AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get your next haul delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

DoorDash has agreed to acquire Instacart in a transaction valuing the grocery-delivery company at about $17 billion, or $65 per share. The consideration will be at least 75% cash, with the remaining portion potentially paid in DoorDash shares; the companies say the deal would combine delivery capacity with Instacart’s grocery technology. The announcement does not specify a closing date, and the transaction has not yet closed.

DoorDash has agreed to acquire Instacart in a deal valuing the grocery-delivery company at about $17 billion, combining DoorDash’s delivery network with Instacart’s grocery and retail technology. The companies announced the definitive agreement in October 2026; the acquisition remains subject to closing and is not yet complete.

The agreement values each Instacart share at $65, which DoorDash said represents a 26% premium to Instacart’s closing price on October 22, 2026. The aggregate consideration will be at least 75% cash. Instacart stockholders may elect cash, DoorDash stock or a combination, subject to proration that caps DoorDash stock at 25% of the total consideration. Instacart’s board unanimously approved the agreement, according to the announcement.

DoorDash says the combined company would pair its delivery network with Instacart’s grocery fulfillment technology, retailer relationships and online storefront tools. The companies say those products could serve retailers through their own websites as well as the DoorDash and Instacart apps. DoorDash also expects Instacart’s brand, enterprise technology products and app to remain in place after closing.

The announcement describes several expected customer and worker benefits, but these are projections rather than changes already in effect. DoorDash says Instacart customers could gain access to more than 50,000 additional stores, beyond the nearly 100,000 stores already on Instacart’s platform. It also estimates that DashPass and Instacart+ members could save a combined $100 million per year in membership fees if the memberships are offered for one fee. The companies say more orders could create additional earning opportunities for Dashers and Instacart Shoppers.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced October 2026; closing date no…
The developmentDoorDash and Instacart announced a definitive agreement for DoorDash to acquire Instacart at $65 per share.

A Larger Network for Grocery Delivery

The deal would bring two major delivery platforms under one owner at a time when retailers are trying to serve customers both in stores and online. If the transaction closes and the companies deliver on their stated plans, the combination could give local grocers access to a wider delivery network and to technology for online ordering, fulfillment and advertising without building all of those systems themselves.

For consumers, the practical effects would depend on how the companies combine memberships, store listings, delivery options and apps. DoorDash’s stated store-access and membership-savings figures are estimates, not guaranteed outcomes. Workers could also see more orders or choices, as the company projects, but the announcement does not quantify how work, pay or order allocation would change.

The companies have also made commitments aimed at preserving retailer choice and shopper flexibility. DoorDash says local grocers will not face grocery exclusivity requirements and that Instacart Shoppers can keep choosing which batches to accept, including whether to take DoorDash orders. How these commitments operate after closing will matter to retailers and workers as the platforms are integrated.

Products Worth Considering

Brother TD-2020A 2‑Inch Direct Thermal Desktop Label Printer with USB

Brother TD-2020A 2‑Inch Direct Thermal Desktop Label Printer with USB

Apple MacBook Pro (14.2-inch, 2025) – M5 chip, 16GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black

Apple MacBook Pro (14.2-inch, 2025) – M5 chip, 16GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Platforms Fit Together

DoorDash says customers often use its service for restaurant meals and other nearby purchases, while Instacart is focused on grocery shopping and fulfillment. Instacart, operated by Maplebear Inc., also provides retailers with technology for their own online stores and advertising products. The proposed acquisition therefore combines more than two consumer-facing apps: it brings together delivery logistics and services used by retail partners.

In describing the rationale, DoorDash pointed to the challenge of online grocery orders, which require picking products, handling substitutions and delivering perishable goods. The companies argue that larger online retailers and grocers can invest in delivery fleets, warehouses and software, while smaller retailers may find those costs harder to carry. Their stated case for the deal is that shared tools and delivery capacity could help local businesses compete online. Those claims describe the companies’ rationale; they do not establish what the acquisition will achieve.

““Grocery is one of the hardest things to get right online.””

— Tony Xu, DoorDash co-founder and CEO

Closing Terms and Integration Still Pending

The available announcement does not give a target closing date or describe all remaining conditions to completion. It also does not explain in detail how stockholder elections will be handled beyond the stated proration limit, or how regulators and other required parties will review the transaction. Until closing, DoorDash and Instacart say they will continue to operate as separate, independent companies.

It is also unclear when, or exactly how, the proposed membership offer, expanded store access and additional earning opportunities would be introduced. DoorDash’s estimates are not guarantees, and the announcement provides no detailed breakdown of expected job, pay, pricing or service changes. The companies have not yet provided a full integration timetable in the material available.

Awaiting Closing and Consumer Details

The next milestone is completion of the required steps for the acquisition to close. The companies have not stated a closing date in the announcement, so the timeline remains open. Until the transaction is completed, they say they will operate independently.

Customers, retailers, Dashers and Instacart Shoppers will need further detail on how the promised membership arrangement, store additions and platform commitments would work in practice. Updates on closing conditions and implementation would clarify when any changes could reach users and business partners.

Key Questions

How much is DoorDash paying for Instacart?

The agreement values Instacart at $65 per share, or about $17 billion in equity value. DoorDash said the per-share figure is a 26% premium to Instacart’s October 22, 2026, closing price.

How will Instacart shareholders be paid?

At least 75% of the aggregate consideration will be cash. Shareholders may elect cash, DoorDash stock or a mix, but proration will limit DoorDash shares to no more than 25% of the total consideration.

Has DoorDash completed the acquisition?

No. The companies have announced a definitive agreement, but the deal has not closed. The announcement does not provide a closing date.

Will Instacart keep its app and brand?

DoorDash expects to keep Instacart’s brand, app and enterprise technology products after closing. Until then, the companies say they will continue operating separately.

What could change for customers and shoppers?

DoorDash says customers could eventually have access to more stores and a single-fee option for DashPass and Instacart+. It also says Instacart Shoppers will be able to retain flexibility over which batches they accept. These are announced plans and commitments, not changes already in effect.

Source: about.doordash.com

You May Also Like

Consortium Launches Cross-regional Pilot On Post-quantum Security With Participation From Banks And Regulatory Stakeholders

A consortium has initiated a pilot project on post-quantum security involving banks and regulators across multiple regions, aiming to test new cryptographic standards.

OpenAI Claims To Have Solved Maths Problem That Stumped Humans For Decades

OpenAI announces it has solved a long-standing math problem that has challenged researchers for decades, sparking widespread interest and debate.

AI Models Pass Rigorous Test of Corporate Integrity Under Pressure

AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).Live on…

How Much RAM Do You Really Need? A No-Nonsense Guide

For beginners and tech enthusiasts alike, understanding how much RAM you need can optimize your device’s performance—find out what suits your needs best.