TL;DR
Get your next haul delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Nationwide has launched a 30-month Member Exclusive Bond paying 5.3% interest, described in the source report as the market’s highest rate at the time. It is available to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers; the supplied information does not state the minimum deposit, access rules or how its return compares with a cash ISA after tax.
Nationwide has launched a 30-month fixed-rate savings account paying 5.3% interest, an offer the source report calls the market’s top rate at the time. The Member Exclusive Bond is available to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers, but whether savers would be better off with a cash ISA depends on tax circumstances and the account’s full terms.
The new account is named the 30-month Member Exclusive Bond. It fixes the interest rate for two and a half years, giving eligible savers a stated rate of 5.3% over that period. The source report identifies the bond as an exclusive offer rather than a generally available account.
Eligibility is limited, according to the report, to existing customers of Nationwide or Virgin Money. The supplied material does not give details of the minimum or maximum deposit, how interest is paid, whether early withdrawal is allowed, or what happens when the fixed term ends. Savers should check the provider’s account terms before applying.
The report describes 5.3% as the highest-paying option on the market “right now,” but it does not provide a comparison table, survey date or list of competing accounts. That ranking should be understood as the report’s assessment at publication, not a guarantee that the bond remains the market leader. Savings rates can change, and the source information does not specify the date on which the comparison was made.
How the Fixed Rate Affects Savers
A fixed rate can help savers estimate the interest they will earn during the account term, provided they meet the product’s rules and keep their money invested as required. The bond’s 30-month term also means customers may have less flexibility than with an easy-access account. Whether that trade-off is worthwhile depends on when they might need the funds and what alternative rates are available.
The headline rate is not the only factor in the return. Interest earned in a taxable savings account may count towards a saver’s Personal Savings Allowance, depending on their tax status and other savings income. A cash ISA generally shelters interest from income tax, subject to ISA rules and the annual allowance. The source report frames the choice as bond versus ISA, but does not provide enough information to calculate which option pays more for any particular saver.
For readers comparing the two, the relevant figure is the return after any tax, alongside access restrictions and eligibility. A higher gross rate outside an ISA may not produce a higher net return for every customer. Conversely, someone who can earn interest without exceeding their allowance may value the bond’s stated rate, if they are comfortable locking money away for the full term.
Products Worth Considering

LG PuriCare AeroHit Smart Air Purifier for Large Rooms up to 1000 sq ft, True HEPA Filter with 360° Airflow, PM1.0 Sensor & LED Air Quality

Samsung 27-Inch Odyssey OLED G5 QHD Gaming Monitor

Samsung 27-inch Odyssey G5 QHD Gaming Monitor (G51F)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Member-Only Savings Offer
The product is presented as an offer for customers with an existing relationship with Nationwide or Virgin Money. That eligibility condition narrows the group able to apply and is distinct from the interest rate itself. The source material does not explain how customer status is checked, whether additional conditions apply, or whether new customers can qualify by opening another product first.
The supplied report focuses on the bond’s rate and the question of whether an ISA could be preferable. It gives no broader account comparison or details of current cash ISA rates. Nor does it set out the wider market data behind its claim that this is the top-rate option. These gaps matter because savings products are most useful when compared on the same basis: term, access, eligibility, minimum balance and tax treatment.
Fixed-rate products can suit people who have funds they do not expect to need before maturity. They may be less suitable for emergency savings or planned spending during the term. The exact consequences of taking money out early cannot be established from the provided information, so prospective applicants should not assume withdrawals are permitted or penalty-free.
““the highest-paying option on the market right now””
— MoneyWeek report
Terms and ISA Comparison Still Missing
The source material does not provide the bond’s minimum deposit, maximum balance, interest-payment schedule or rules for withdrawals before the end of the 30-month term. It also does not say what rate, if any, would apply when the bond matures. Those details are needed to judge the product’s practical value.
It is also unclear how the report established that 5.3% was the market’s highest rate, since no comparison date or competing accounts are listed. Rates may have changed since publication. The available information likewise does not supply cash ISA rates or a worked tax comparison, so it cannot establish whether an ISA would leave a particular saver better off.
The account’s specific protections and application process are not described in the material. Customers should confirm the provider’s current terms, eligibility requirements and the treatment of their savings before transferring money.
Check Current Rates and Account Rules
Savers considering the offer should check Nationwide’s current product information for the 5.3% rate, eligibility, deposit limits, withdrawal conditions and maturity arrangements. They should also compare the available cash ISA options over a similar period, taking account of tax and access rather than comparing headline rates alone.
The source report does not state an application deadline or say whether Nationwide plans to change or withdraw the offer. The next practical step for readers is to verify that the bond remains open to applications and that its terms match their needs. Any later rate changes or product updates would affect the comparison, but none are confirmed in the supplied information.
Key Questions
What rate does Nationwide’s new bond pay?
The 30-month Member Exclusive Bond is reported to pay a fixed rate of 5.3%. The report describes that as the market’s highest rate at publication, but does not give the comparison date.
Who can apply for the account?
The source report says it is available to existing Nationwide and Virgin Money customers. It does not explain how customer eligibility is verified or whether other conditions apply.
Is the bond better than a cash ISA?
That depends on the saver’s tax position, the ISA rate available and the bond’s full terms. The supplied information does not include a tax calculation or cash ISA comparison, so it cannot determine which option would pay more for an individual.
Can I withdraw money before the 30 months are over?
The available source material does not state whether early withdrawals are allowed or whether a charge or interest reduction would apply. Check Nationwide’s current account terms before depositing money you may need during the fixed term.
Is 5.3% still the top savings rate?
The report calls it the highest-paying option “right now,” but does not provide a dated market comparison. Because savings rates can change, check current offers before applying.
Source: moneyweek.com
